It’s Bliss

Remember my post yesterday when I declared my disdain for all things flour? Well, today’s post is going to sweep all that out the door and leave you flour heads screaming HYPOCRISY!!!! But trust, by the end you will totally understand.

Saturday morning, I was laying in bed writing my Best Banana Bread post when my niece called and asked if I had had lunch as yet. The answer was a resounding no and she said get ourselves ready she was on her way. This is kinda our Saturday routine roaming from market to supermarket to mall to restaurant, so we were ready to roll in under 30 mins. We headed up the south coast to Bliss Cafe, and let me tell you this place was pure bliss.

A natural African inspired decor

Did you read that menu? It is based entirely around waffles, bagels, flatbreads, paninis, you know, all things made of flour, that white stuff that I don’t care for. Oh the irony!!! So you know how outstanding this food had to be. The waffles were fresh, light and not sweet at all. The fresh fruit, syrups and cream were well balanced and  well portioned and just took the waffles to another level. I could never have expected a gastronomical feast of such basic fare, but they have perfected it. SO let me jump right into it, words cannot do these dishes justice so no lot of long talk!

IMG-20170513-WA0027

The son had banana caramel

IMG-20170513-WA0021

The lass had classic simple blueberry

IMG-20170513-WA0023

OMG…let’s just call what the adults shared Heaven

Oh but don’t think that because they have perfected sweet that they don’t know how to do savoury. My sis and I both had the jerk chicken with flatbread, while the niece had sticky, smoky, scrumptous BBQ chicken on a bagel. Perfect portions of meat, bursting with flavours, freshly baked breads and lots of veggies. YAS!!!

IMG-20170513-WA0026

OH LAWD!!!! My jerk chicken flatbread was sooo fresh and flavourful

IMG-20170513-WA0030

This smoky BBQ chicken is to die for!!!

You know how you go to a food joint and the pictures on the wall are the bomb? The colours are popping, the servings overfloweth, and you start to salivate. Or so I’ve been told. LOL. Well, my daughter was over the moon that this shake turned out to be just as pictured!!!

IMG-20170513-WA0005

The entire table had to share this bad boy…LOL!!!!

When her turn came, she attacked this shake like a project. She even had the twinkie!! LOL

There are only two things you need to know before heading up the coast road. I won’t even call them drawbacks or negatives, nothing negative to report over here.

  • Their hours are Tuesday  to Saturday 7:30 to 3:00 and Mondays 7:30 – 12, which kinda sucked because we all just wanted to stay there and lime and chat and give our “itis” time to chill, but families in business do need down time as well. And….
  • THEY DO NOT ACCEPT CARDS….I know, right!

But listen, there is an ATM 30 secs away (literally) and this food is worthy of a breakfast, brunch, lunch, early dinner or lime. I shouldn’t say breakfast because just last week I admonished my sister for allowing my niece these for breakfast at the farmer’s market. Hypocrisy, much? They also offer a range of herbal teas, fresh ground coffee and natural juices.

Image may contain: 1 person, eating, sitting, dessert and food

Bliss does cater to private events and my son is already sold on the venue for his upcoming 13th birthday, SO book it and claim it as yours for an evening or late night shinding. Seriously people, I have not been this impressed by a food establishment in a long time but this BLISS, oh man. Count me in each and every time.

IMG-20170513-WA0032

The posse…raised glasses, licking fingers, you know it was good!

For more of what Bliss has to offer check out their facebook page here..https://www.facebook.com/BlissCafeBarbados/

 

2 thoughts on “It’s Bliss

Leave a comment